Moving on…

Starting next week, it will be the start of an exciting new phase in my professional life. As part of a ‘simplication’ process, I will be leaving my company. I don’t usually mention my real job or my (soon-to-be-ex-) employer because there an inherent conflict in writing about your employer on your personal blog.

I also think it’s a colossal waste of time, especially when you spend 60-80hrs working at your job and blogging about your employer on your own time isn’t a very smart use of anyone’s time. The only exception is when you’re the founder/owner of the company and/or have a significant influence on the company’s business and/or you are paid to blog about your company after-hours, then that’s a different story.

I am a recovering entrepreneur and that’s probably going to be the dominating theme of my blog going forward. Here are some great blog posts I noticed recently:

I loved this awesome post by one of my fav bloggers, Steve Hodson, who says that it’s fear (and fear-mongering) rather than economic reality that’s driving some of the layoffs in the tech industry. 

I found these great tips and suggestions from Robert Scoble on what to do if you get laid off in the 2008 recession.

Techcrunch has an interesting take on how to use the echo chamber in the lean times to build your brand.

2 responses to “Moving on…

  1. Mia thank you very much for the kind words I really appreciate them.

  2. Hi Steve,
    You’re most welcome! I think many companies are taking this opportunity to ‘clean house’ and make the cuts needed, without raising many questions. There’s a lot to be said for positive attitude and leadership in times like these. Cheers,
    Mia

Leave a Reply

