Twitter bug

Okay, so I’ve got the Twitter bug. I was inspired by David Tebbutt’s post "Are twitterers twits?"

Clearly targeted at a generation brought up to think that the world revolves around themselves, twitter is narcissistic in the extreme.

I agree! Twitter is a shining example of our ‘look-at-me’ culture. It lets you update your groupies with what you are doing, when you are doing it. But when is too much…too much? Do I want to know what you had for breakfast this morning or what you are doing 24×7? The answer seems to be a resounding Yes, if the overwhelming popularity of Twitter is anything to go by.

Any media can be either used for good or evil. As I mentioned in my earlier post, I see Twitter as an effective medium for viral marketing, where a message picked up by one individual or group is soon transmitted to rest of the crowd. But the current problem with this media is that it’s used for all sorts of worthless messages, so folks have start tuning them out. WSJ reports how mundane messages are overwhelming some Twitterers.

Interconnectedness with the world around us is a good thing, but when we spend so much time twittering (about the media) that we don’t care if the message has any relevance, well, that’s just…a waste.

2 responses to “Twitter bug

  1. Crikey, Mia, I think that’s the first time I’ve inspired anyone. Thanks.

  2. Hi David,

    It was the ‘narcissistic’ bit that completely blew me away 🙂

    Cheers,

    Mia

Leave a Reply

